Asa Butterfield: star of the Boy in the Striped Pyjamas

Sitting across the sofa from Asa Butterfield it is hard not to feel very young. The 11-year-old star has the uncanny ability, common to so many pre-pubescent boys, of reducing me to my gawky teenage self.

asa-butterfield“So what do you want to ask?” he says, fixing me with his blue eyes. His blithe unawareness as to why I want to talk to him makes every question seem trivial.

We are sitting in the basement kitchen of his home in Islington, north London, while his Mum, slightly confusingly called Jake, cooks dinner. In this homely setting it is hard to imagine him as Bruno, his character in The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, staring through the barbed wire fence into the horror of a Nazi concentration camp.

But Asa is a born actor. Listening to him describe acting in a film about the holocaust, it is hard to believe that director Mark Herman chose him for the part because of his innocence to the subject matter.

“The last scene was horrible; I almost threw up,” he says. “It felt like I was going through it, though nowhere near as bad.” But the role has brought him fame, two nominations for a British Film Award and a London Critics Circle Film Award.

This part is the latest in a long string of parts that would make many grown actors turn green with envy. Asa has been acting since the tender age of seven at the Islington-based Young Actors Theatre, where he got his first part in the 2006 television drama After Thomas, followed by the 2007 children’s comedy Son of Rambow.

He begins work on his next film, The Kid, a true-life story of desecrated childhood, next month. In it, he plays a young boy who suffers terrible abuse at the hands of his mother. “It’s sort of horrific. I’m abused really badly. My mum beats me until she’s too tired to carry on. She breaks my hand in a mangler,” he says earnestly.

I say it must be hard to act in a scene like that and his previous scorn returns: “Well I haven’t done it yet, so we’ll have to see.”

But, as for many child stars before him, Asa has had second thoughts. In an interview with The Times he said that he did not want continue his career on the silver screen. He says it was because of missing his friends and family, who he did not see for the three-months of filming.

But now that he is back at school in Stoke Newington, he has changed his mind: “Seeing as I’ve had loads of press now – well, not that much – and some nominations, I reckon I probably want to be an actor now.”

For more, visit: www.islingtonnow.co.uk

10 Responses to “Asa Butterfield: star of the Boy in the Striped Pyjamas”


  1. 1 Giceadatepe March 29, 2009 at 8:50 am

    very very nice content…
    check this notgeile weiber

    smoke a joint

  2. 2 PRISCILLA RODRIGUES.V April 8, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    la pelicula me justo mucho al final fue muy triste me justaria conoser en persona a asa butterfirld y a amber yo vivo en costerica en tibas mandemen coreos adios.

  3. 3 PRISCILLA RODRIGUES.V April 8, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    a y tengo 12 años bueno casi los cumplo el 25 de mayo espero que saquen el niño con el piyama de rayas 2 aunque no creo que la saquen tendria que ser inventada adios.

  4. 4 priscilla April 8, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    nunca habia bisto una pelicula tan triste como el niño con el piyame de rayas.me pueden mandar coreos en ingles o en el idioma que usted halbe y ojala tubiera el correo de ambarpor que me cae muy bien.

  5. 5 Paulina May 4, 2009 at 3:42 am

    esa pelicula me encanto ademas el sale super tierno y lindo me encantan sus ojos tan hermosos y lo mas genial tiene mi edad porfin alguien famoso y lindo que me gusta que tiene mi edad!am bueno
    Bye!!!

  6. 6 Paulina May 4, 2009 at 3:45 am

    Olaa!!!esa pelicula me encanto y el es muy bueno actuando que en el final me hiso llorar ademas el esta tan lindo me encantan sus ojos tan lindos y cuando sonrie anda lo bueno esque tiene mi edad porfin alguien que me gusta que tiene mi edad yo creia que tenia 8 años pero no genial
    Bye!!!!

  7. 8 diego July 26, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    hermosa pelicula de estos pequeños pero fabulososactores que llegan al corazon


  1. 1 Topics about Actors » Archive » Asa Butterfield: star of the Boy in the Striped Pyjamas … Trackback on March 24, 2009 at 7:28 pm
  2. 2 Topics about Actors » Archive » Asa Butterfield: star of the Boy in the Striped Pyjamas Trackback on March 24, 2009 at 10:27 pm

Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

